12 technical institutes selected to act as centres of excellence

By Francis Emorut, David Lumu Added 9th February 2018 09:35 PM

This was announced during the signing ceremony of memorandum of understanding between the ministry of education and the principals of the institutes at the ministry's headquarters in

Kampala.



Left to right: Joseph Amone chairperson Kitgum technical institute, Godfrey Kisarach principal Ora technical institute and Innocent Abaasa principal Ssese farm institute signing copies of memorandum of understanding between the ministry of education and technical institutes at the education ministry headquarters on Friday February 9, 2018. Photos by Francis Emorut

The government has selected 12 vocational technical institutes to deliver high quality demand driven programmes in skilling Ugandans.

This was announced during the signing ceremony of memorandum of understanding between the ministry of education and the principals of the institutes at the ministry's headquarters in Kampala.

The institutes include; Karera Technical Institute in Bushenyi, Nyamitanga Technical Institute (Mbarara) Rwentanga Farm Institute (Mbarara), Kitgum Technical Institute, Kalongo Technical Institute (Agago), Ora Technical Institute (Zombo) and Butaleja Technical Institute.

The undersecretary of the ministry of education, Aggrey Kibenge (left) listens to assistant commissioner technical education, Loy Muhwezi during the signing ceremony of memorandum of understanding at the ministry headquarters in Kampala.
Others are Kasodo Tehanical Institute (Pallisa), Kaliro Technical

Institute (Kaliro), Ssese Farm Institute (Kalangala), Lake Katwe Training Institute (Kasese) and Kaberamaido Technical Institute.

The 12 institutes will network with the four existing centres of excellence namely Bukalasa Agricultural College, Uganda Technical College Lira, Uganda Technical College Elgon and Uganda Technical College Bushenyi.

The Uganda skills development project was funded by World Bank.

The signing ceremony was witnessed by the permanent secretary ministry of education Joseph Kakooza, the undersecretary, Aggrey Kibenge, assistant commissioner technical education Loy Muhwezi, World Bank officials and the principals and chairperson board of governors of the institutes.